About Us

The United Arab Emirates Nation.

Usually government offices are opened from 7:30 to 14:30 hrs (from Saturday to Thursday). Most offices in the public sector open from 08:00 to 13:00 hrs and 16:00 to 20:30 hrs. Many shops and the big shopping Malls open from 10:00 to 22:00 without a break. The weekend is Friday and Saturday.

Dubai has a sub tropical and arid climate with temperatures between 10o C and 48o C, with an average temperature of 24o C in winter and 41o C in summer. In winter there are infrequent and irregular rainfalls and sandstorms, whereas in summer the humidity can rise to 100%. The most pleasant time to visit Dubai is between November and April.

The local currency is the U.A.E. Dirham, which has the fixed exchanging rate of 3.67 to the USD. The best exchanges rates you will get in banks or in private exchanges, that you can find in all main Shopping Malls..

American Express, Diners Club, Visa, Mastercard are generally accepted in all major restaurant, hotels and shops.

The official language of the country is Arabic, although English is widely spoken. Due to the large number of Exparts also Urdu and Hindi are often spoken and mostly understood. Further languages are spoken by tourism staff.

The U.A.E. is four hours ahead of UTC (Universal Co-ordinated time). There is no summer time saving when clocks are altered.

Here you can find some telephone numbers that might be useful for you:

  • American Hospital ............................336 7777

The islamic calendar goes along with the moon. The islamic year is called Hijiri, wich has 354 or 355 days and 12 lunar months. Therefore a large number of Public Holidays are not fixed and are confirmed only 24 hours in advance.

  • New Years Day ..................................1st Jan
  • Lailat Al Mi’Raj ......................................moon moon

Islam is the official religion of the U.A.E., but other religions are respected.

Passportholders of most of the western European countries as well as citizens of USA, Canada, Australia, New Zeland, Japan, South Korea, Brunei, Singapore, Malaysia and Hong Kong get free visit visa upon arrival, which is valid for 60 days and which is renewable once for a total of 90 days upon payment of a fee. All other nationalities are eligible for obtaining a 30-day, non-renewable tourist visa, which is sponsored by a local hotel or tour operator. For more information please visit www.dnrd.gov.ae